Bedford-Sackville Observer: LOCAL MOM LEADING WOMEN IN BUSINESS

Nominated in the Micro Business category for an RBC Womens Entrepreneur Award, Pamela Streeter says it's a highlight of her career.
Creative Kids Education Centre and Birch Hills Academy owner and entrepreneur, Pamela Streeter says being a finalist nominee in the Micro-Business category of the RBC Canadian Women Entrepreneur Award signifies, “small businesses can have a big impact within the community … this is really the highlight of my career in terms of recognition.”

Innovation, inspiration and advice from one of Canada’s leading female entrepreneurs.

A local entrepreneur and educator from Hammonds Plains is one of 18 finalists from across Canada, nominated for a 2014 RBC Canadian Women Entrepreneur Award (CWEA).

From 4,000 nominees, Pamela Streeter, executive director of Creative Kids Education Centre and Birch Hills Academy, is one of three regional finalists, and is nominated for a Micro-Business Award at the national ceremony celebrating leading Canadian female entrepreneurs.

Streeter has been setting successful lives in motion for more than 25 years, with a focus on delivering reading, learning and socializing skills through her preschool, elementary, middle school, school-age and day camp programs.

Q: What inspired your entrepreneurial path?

Streeter:
“I’m a mother of three children. I had always seen myself as being at home with my children. Fortunately my field of expertise was in early education. When my children were really young and I wanted to contribute more to my family, and also to challenge myself, I opened up a preschool in my home.

When my children started school, two of them didn’t learn to read in the public school system. It started me on this investigation as to why that was, what we could do better, how could I help them. I learned we can do this easily.

I started implementing pre-reading strategies into our early learning programs. Parents would come back and reinforce the need existed. I was an entrepreneur prior to that, but it helped shape the path I took. Offering the reading through a school setting seemed to make sense.

I also noticed the children who need a more skills-based method of learning to read, have a brain that’s often very creative. So where they often excel is, in the Fine Arts. By offering the fine arts earlier on, they have classes where they can really shine and feel confident.”

Streeters advice to local women entrepreneurs and her thoughts on the nomination in the Halifax Citizen.

The 22nd annual RBC CWEA recognizes women entrepreneurs who make impressive contributions to their local, Canadian or global economy. Winners will be announced an awards gala in Toronto on Nov. 26.