Cast on Vaca: An optimistic blog of salvaging a family holiday

photoBy Meli, age 9

I L-O-V-E basketball…so much that in the play-off game I hurt baby finger and I played on…and on…

Mum thought it was a sprain.

“They’ll do nothing with a baby finger.  We’ll splint it.”, said Dad

Turns out, it was fractured and a two and half weeks later I had surgery. My baby finger has two lovely pins holding it in place.  This would all be fine, if I wasn’t on March Break…skiing!

Yes, my family has taken me on a skiing holiday.  This is my cast.  This is my cast’s holiday.

Welcome to ‘Cast on Vaca’.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click here for more adventures of ‘Cast on Vaca’ and our adventures with The Claw!

“March Break can be full breaks…literally falling so close to February’s icy slick grasp, sometimes the best laid family holiday plans are fractured by an injury or illness. My daughter’s finding the silver lining and wanted to make a diary of her ‘attached at the finger’ buddy, Castie.  Perhaps her optimism can help other families salvage the dramas that often disrupt a well-planned family ‘vacay’.” With a little help from a creative…often desperate and slightly frantic mum, trying to solve the puzzles in her world.

4 thoughts on “Cast on Vaca: An optimistic blog of salvaging a family holiday”

Comments are closed.